Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Gen16 Direct Source Pickups

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gen16 Direct Source Pickups

First off, I am new to the thread. Reading through some of the posts on this site have convinced me to join the site and contribute my knowledge and experience whenever possible.

My project...

I am building an acoustic electric drum set. I got a killer deal on a used pdp set with virgin 24" kick drum, so I bought it and started my conversion. I have all mesh heads made out of solar screen and used drum rims. I am in the process of making piezo transducers work for the triggering mechanism. Plan on using a TD-6 drum brain since each channel accepts a 1/4" jack. Has anyone used this module with their own conversions? I have watched many many youtube videos, and everyone seems to be using Alesis brains. I much prefer Roland equipment since I have been using Roland gear for around 10 years, and have never had issues with it.

For cymbals, I decided to buy a new set of direct source Gen16 cymbals. I like the realistic look and feel of the cymbals, so I went out and bought a set without doing much research beforehand. I have them setup to practice with until I get the sounds nailed down for live shows. I didn't even know you can change the cymbals to different colors and lighting configurations. They look pretty sweet, and I know they will look super awesome under stage lighting.