Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi-Hat or Crash or Other?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi-Hat or Crash or Other?

Hey All,

This is my first post to the forums. I've been reading on for a while while setting up my fairly new TD-15K set.
    It's been a few months since I've been playing on it, after transitioning from an acoustic kit with the same setup.

Just to remind you, the TD-15K has a Hi-Hat, Crash, Ride, 3 Toms, Snare and Bass.

I got a CY-8 crash cymbal for Christmas, because my family knew that I was looking at adding either the crash or another hi-hat to the mix as well as a fourth tom.

I'm trying to decide if i would rather keep the crash or return it for the second hi-hat (which could double as a crash since it's electric) when I go to purchase the fourth tom.
    The main reason that I'm leaning toward the second high-hat is that I am going through the "new breed" book and it recommends having both the left and the right handed high-hat. I also like the idea of the smaller pad acting as a splash at times.

The idea of a second crash isn't a bad thought either though, and I want to hear if you think it would be better for any reason.

The other option would be to forego the fourth tom and keep the high-hat and crash, but I can't do all three at the moment because the TD-15 brain only has two auxiliary inputs, and I don't want to add a second brain or upgrade to the TD-30.

I play a lot of alternative, pop(y) almost electronic type music (think Foster the People, Tove Lo, MS MR).

What do you recommend?
    Is there something else I should be thinking through?