Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

TD-30k and TD-30k SX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD-30k and TD-30k SX

Hello all. I've been playing acoustics for 20 years now, but unfortunately my living situation has temporarily put an end to that. Looking to buy either a used TD-20 kit or new TD-30k kit. My question is, what is the difference between the TD-30k and TD-30k SX? You'd think this info would be easy to find... maybe I just need some sleep. Also, I've heard the TD-30 is a major improvement over the 20... but is it enough to justify spending an extra 1500+ over a used 20 kit? I realize this is a subjective question, but look forward to your opinions. Thank you, J

Originally posted by jj46 View Post
    is it enough to justify spending an extra 1500+ over a used 20 kit?
    My perspective is unusual in that I haven't played any kit for 25 years. My decision was between a new TD-30KV at around 6K and minty TD-20 SX for a couple of grand less. I know the work to become a good drummer again would be same and I'd have a blast either way. Either one was new to me. I got the TD-20 SX. Not once have I set down at the kit and thought "I wish my kit was new in 2012 rather than 2011" (the year the first owner bought it).

Chris
    TD-20SX; DW 9000 hardware

Comment

From what I know the TD30 comes in a K and a KV version. Never heard of an SX. The KV has all the bells and whistles. The VH13 hi hat, the MG cymbals, 4 toms and the newest pads. Either way you get the same module. Just ask yourself what you need for pads etc...
      - EKIT: Jobeky Drums: Custom 5 piece "Lacewood fade" & Hart 13" Pro Chrome snare. ROLAND MG V-CYMBALS