Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Roland modules, external triggers, MIDI keys -- How do I reduce gear but keep the functionality?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roland modules, external triggers, MIDI keys -- How do I reduce gear but keep the functionality?

Background: I was an active drummer through the 80s and even had an early electronic kit (which was great for portability but I hated the drum sounds). I got back to drumming about 3 years ago, and a year ago made the leap to a TD-4 kit -- which I love.

About 4 months ago, the lead guitarist in our band quit and we're amidst a reconfiguration to become a 3-piece. This has been an amazingly interesting effort, but it's left me with some new needs and lots of questions.

Losing the lead guitar, I'm picking up responsibility for some new roles, including triggering some the playback of pre-recorded samples, some light keyboard parts, etc. I've got the following gear:I can do what I need with this set up, but I'm looking to try to simplify. I'd like your assistance in identifying:
    1. What's the simplest set up that could allow me to trigger external drum samples?
    2. Can I load external samples on the TD-4 or TD-6 modules? If so, how?
    3. Is there a sane way to make this setup work without the MacBook?
      • I figure I can trigger sounds from the modules or from external sources. The SamplePad can hold some, but it has no trigger in.
    4. Any recommendations on rack mounts (or alternatives) for the MacBook and/or MIDI keyboard?
    Any help is appreciated. Links to useful guides are appreciated. A read of the manuals for the modules was less than helpful.

Thanks -

​Shane O.