Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Adrum user looking to convert to edrum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adrum user looking to convert to edrum

Hi, this is my first post.. I've been drumming for 14 years, using mainly acoustic equipment all my life. I have practiced and like edrums, but the only thing that stops me from getting them are the price!

Anyway, I have a nice Yamaha 5-pc set I'd either like to sell and get edrums or convert them to edrums.. I went to that Hart website and saw they have Acoustic Drum Conversion kits.. What I am looking for are your opinions on this.. It looks to be a much cheaper and effective solution for me, as I don't have to go out and spend like $1500 for a whole new edrum set..

1) Should I get the ADC? How do they hold up?
    2) If I get them, should I also spring for new Hart heads? Or use my Remos like I have on my drums already?
    3) Do i also need to purchase triggers for the ADC pads or are the triggers built in to the pad?
    4) Very important: If I use the ADC pads, are they QUIET? I mean, will there be any reverb from my acoustic shells? Or will I just hear the sticks hitting the heads only? I want to practice in my home with as little noise as possible.

I think the ADC would be beneficial, as it would allow me to practice edrums style but yet with the change of heads, go right back to true acoustic style.. Oh, and I'll prolly mate the ADCs up to a Roland TD-8 module

Thanks!

Mr. Yamaha
    Hey, I have a good idea. Suck all the equity out of your house. That way you will have enough dough to buy the edrums and maybe take a little vacation. Then if you miss a payment Mr. Creditor will put you out on the street.