Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SPD20 external input help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SPD20 external input help

Hello folks,

I am new to post here, but have been lurking for some time now soaking up all your wonderful info.

As I understand my SPD20 manual it has two dual trigger inputs and two single trigger inputs. I believe this because it says you can only plug a dual trigger pad like the PD120 into inputs 1 & 2.

I currently have a PD6 (HH) and PD100 (snare) in the dual inputs. I have a footswitch (HH control) and KD7 (kick) in the single inputs. I would like maximize my inputs for the SPD20. So far so good, but then I learned about the whole Y-cable split concept, so i'm off and running again. I am attempting to split the dual inputs to hook up optimally two CY-6 pads for a crash and ride.

I have had some luck with a 2 female stereo to 1 male stereo cable (PD100 and CY-6 into SPD20), but noticed that hitting the PD100 and CY-6 at the same time causes only one sound and not both (is this a limitation?). I believe this is the pezio and pezio/fsr split that has been discussed before. Could someone tell me why only one sound comes out when both are hit?

What is strange is that I haven't had any luck with the PD6 and CY6 into SPD20. The CY6 is the pezio/fsr and the PD6 I assumed was just pezio, but it doesn't act the same as the PD100. Could someone tell me why the PD6 is acting different?

I welcome your recommendations on the best way to set this poor-mans e-kit up?

After I get it all working I will post a picture of it here.

Thanks!
    Last edited by biglou; 01-18-03, 10:25 AM.

expanding SPD-20