Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone ever broken a CY-6?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone ever broken a CY-6?

Hmmmm...... much annoyance.

I picked up a used Vclub set from my "friendly" neighborhood music retailer 10 days ago. It had only been used for 3 months, and had only been sitting on the floor for a week (they said).... and it was cheap by Canadian standards (and I'm a student at the moment) so I went for it. He didn't want to give me a 30 day exchange policy at first, but I told him I wouldn't buy the kit otherwise, and he relented.

The CY6s were working fine and sounding like a great deal, when I choked one of them a few times (for the first time).... worked fine... but five minutes of playing later the cymbal stopped working.... the cymbal sounds "permanently choked" now no matter how you hit it. I tried switching it over to the other input (where the other CY6 is working fine) and same thing... so it's the cymbal's fault.

I'm about to go back to the retailer and ask him to buy this cymbal back and sell me a brand new one... but I'm just wondering... has this ever happened to anyone else before? I am not really a hard hitter (although I do play excitedly!) and I use somewhat-heavy-but-not-ridiculous sticks.....Am I the only person who has ever managed to damage a CY6?

Darren

No, it's been reported before. A search on the forum will turn up a lot of threads on the subject.

Though I must say, it seems to be something that they've since corrected, as I haven't read of anyone lately reporting problems.

I have two CY-6's that I bought used and have no problems with them, and another I bought new that also is working well.