Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Roland or Yamaha for first electronic kit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roland or Yamaha for first electronic kit?

Hi, I've decided to get back into playing, after a break of many years. I have a Pearl Export kit in the shed which I can't bring into the house as it drives the family & neighbours insane, just too loud. I have no experience with electronic kits so I went to the local music store & played on 3 or 4 sets. I was really surprised! They were more responsive than I expected & sounded pretty good. At this stage I'm thinking of a beginners kit, get back into practice & get the feel of playing again & then look for a band or players to have some fun with & then upgrade to a td12 or something. A drummer friend advised me to only look at Roland, but one of the kits I tried was the Yamaha DT Express iv & it seemed quite nice. It was hooked up to a sub & a couple of nice little Yamaha speakers & that may have influenced me sound wise. The bass drum sounded fat, like a concert hall. Second hand td6 are about $1300 to $1600 aud, (that's my budget), haven't seen any td9 with mesh pads second hand yet. A td12 went for $3,000 recently, would have been very tempted to stretch for that.
    Anyway, if anyone has suggestions based on experience they would be gratefully accepted.

I wasn't a drummer, bought a TD-3 almost 2 years ago now at the local GC before I found this forum...wasn't sure if I'd really get into it so I got the entry level kit... after a while, upgraded to what I have now. started adding to the TD-3, a Dingbat, then mesh pads which I'm using now on the new kit.

I upgraded to the TD-12...the "problem" (unless you buy used) is the depreciation on your beginner kit.