Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Alesis D4 - Good for beginners?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alesis D4 - Good for beginners?

Hey all, as you can see I just joined this forum. I'm completely new to drums and am looking for a good starter electronic set. I know the general consensus is wait for a TD-3, but I just don't have that kind of cash laying around at the moment. I've been searching craigslist and now I see an Alesis D4 kit for $200 in my area.

Yes, it's old, and yes, it's no TD-3, but do you think it will get the job done? For only $200 it sounded like too nice of a deal to pass up. I might be jumping the gun a bit as I haven't even taken my first lesson. Should I just try and get by without my own set of drums for a while until I can (hopefully) purchase a nicer set? Or is having a drum set while starting off a big help?

Guess this turned into an inquiry on personal takes on beginning drums... sorry if I should have posted this elsewhere and I appreciate the help!

This is the link to the sale btw... I'd have to email him about a rack I think: http://portland.craigslist.org/clk/msg/981042576.html

The Alesis kit might be nice to have around to give the kids something to bang on to keep them off your stuff, but it won't take a serious drummer very far, IMO.
    Id rather be told the ugly truth than handed a pretty lie.

Comment

Originally posted by SShah View Post
      Hey all, as you can see I just joined this forum. I'm completely new to drums and am looking for a good starter electronic set. I know the general consensus is wait for a TD-3, but I just don't have that kind of cash laying around at the moment. I've been searching craigslist and now I see an Alesis D4 kit for $200 in my area.