Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Chokeable cymbals, a td-5, and an emu sampler

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chokeable cymbals, a td-5, and an emu sampler

Hello everyone. I have had my Emu ESI 2000 sampler for about a month now, and I thought I had mastered it. However, when I got my chokeable cymbals (they are sent from the td-5) , they work fine just through the td-5, but when trying to use the sampler with it, the cymbal itself works fine but the choke portion does NOT work.
    First of all, I'm pretty sure the td-5 can send the "choke" message through midi ok, right?
    And second, why is the sampler not registering the choke? What am I doing wrong?

Just to expand on my previous message a little, my problem specifically lies in the sampler (at least, I'm almost positive its the sampler and not the td-5. I can't see any reason why the td-5 is "malfunctiong" its polyphonic key pressure messages.)

On the EMU sampler, theres a MIDI Global menu that defines where the info for the pressure control (aftertouch) is coming from: there is the option to set it to a midi controller number 0-31 (I think those are the right numbers) , Pitch wheel, or channel pressure.

I'm assuming Channel pressure is the one I want to go with. Is this right?

Now, after that, you need to go into a menu that tells me what to do with the pressure control. I set it to VCA level because that controls the volume.

Yet after this, and many other fiddlings with the sampler, it doesn't recognize the chokes at all.