Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

v-club or custom kit???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• v-club or custom kit???

Hi folks:

I was all set to buy a v-club set from Sam Ash last night (because of the no interest for a year thing), but thought I'd wait a bit more before spending so much dough.

I was wondering if a custom kit would be better. Maybe a four piece, a la Ringo, deal. I am a novice so this would be plenty. Would piecing a kit together be cheaper/better than Roland's v-club package? Also, is the td-8 brain much better than the 6?

Any feedback appreciated.

-DC

Most people here with a V-club love it, but have customized it.

I would recommend getting a V-club and playing with it for a while, and then realize that like most of us, you will add something.

A non-scientific reading of this forum tells me that V-club owners add one of more of the following (not ranked)
    Snare: some mentioned are: PD-9, PD-80R, Hart Pro, home brew
    Hi-Hat: some mentioned are: CY-6, CY-12, CY-12H, CY-12RC, CY-15R, Pintech
    Kick: some mentioned are: 2nd KD-7, KD-80. KD-120, home brew
    Cymbals: New ride, (move CY-6 to crash 2), CY-12RC, CY-15R, Pintech etc.

You don't loose your 'replaced' PD-6s triggers, you can move the 1st one to Tom 4, (every V-club owner seems to do this) and 2nd to either Crash 2, or AUX depending on what else you are adding. Roland has defined the AUX for all 99 original drum kits in the TD-6, so when starting out, you'll have fun exploring and tweeking the defaults.
    The KD-7 Kick, has an input that will handle another Kick trigger, so you'll get a double bass without using up an input in the TD-6.

Enjoy