Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New drummer - TD3KW or TD9KX?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New drummer - TD3KW or TD9KX?

Hi all

First post, have searched and read peoples input on similar questions so apologies for repetition but these things are worth a fresh input.

Used to play guitar, been wanting to learn drums for a while and now have the opportunity. Started lessons (wanted to start off with good basics/foundation) and had my eye on a TD3 but after lurking here I'm now drawn to the TD9, mainly because of the all-mesh pads, better percussion module and ability to add VEX kits in the future.

Obviously the latter cost's more and I'm a beginner but the more I think about it it makes sense. I know I'd definitely want to upgrade the rubber pads to mesh sooner rather than later anyway, that alone would cost about the same price difference but spend it now and I get the better module too.

Not made of money (if I was I wouldn't be needing to ask!) but I'm lucky enough to be able to afford the TD9 so please let me know your thoughts; is my logic sound? Or should I start with the TD3 then upgrade? Is there any aspect of the TD9 that might make it not as suitable for a newbie? Is there another kit I haven't considered that sits somewhere between these two cost/quality-wise?

Thanks in advance!
    My UPDATED TD9-KX - http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g5...0/P2240044.jpg