Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

CY-8 Play

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CY-8 Play

I just received my TD-6KW a week or so ago and I'm happy with it other than the play of the cymbals, CY-8's. The play seems to be inconsistent. I feel like I have to hit it perfect or I'm not getting the right sounds out of it. I'll be playing the ride in a small area and the sound will go from the regular ride sound to the bell sound. I'm not sure if there's something I have to configure to get them to perform better. Sometimes I'll damn near hit the crash with all my might only to have it make a small sound. Let me close by saying I'm a novice drummer but does my aim have to be perfect to get good sound out of these cymbals? I want to add a 2nd crash to my set and I'm considering getting a regular drum pad, or perhaps two and selling my CY-8's. Thanks for any guidance.

The bell sound on the TD6 should be velocity triggered - can it be that you are hitting a bit harder, perhaps for accents, that trigger the bell....and you are using only the section of the cy-8 that is meant for hitting, ie not the area with the Roland lettering...

aside from that, I much prefer the cy12 R/C as a ride, seems to have a better feel - though you can't use the third (bell) zone on the td-6.
    TD9+6v with Diamond Electronic pads, and cowbell.
    ATH-50m headphones, VEX packs
    not to mention keyboards, guitars, basses, and cats

Comment

Originally posted by marhood View Post