Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Noisy Kick drum <TD20>

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noisy Kick drum <TD20>

Hi guys. Can you help?
    I'm trying to track down what the problem here can be...
    Today the Kick drum had a 'noisy' sound with it. It was like the sample was playing, but also a noisy fizzy sound, perhaps with an envelope. ...Odd. The noise wasn't there when the sample was triggered directly from the brain. Nor was it there when the kick sample was triggered by plugging the kick cable into a Tom.

Now forgive me as I'm only a simple bassist (trying to control the sound too) but can anyone tell me how a trigger can still function, but be noisy? I probably am not getting it but I thought that the sample was being played from the brain and only triggered by the pad (with extra info for velocity and volume etc) Where can the noise be getting into the system? Is this something that can be caused by a faulty pad, or should I be looking for a fault elsewhere? (I doubt it's elsewhere since it sounds fine triggered by a tom, and I can't narrow it down to anything BUT the kick drum itself...) Please help me. I tried searching but I couldn't find any other posts that sounded like they were discussing a similar problem.
    Any experiences of this kind of thing will be gratefully listened to!

All the best. Andy

Welcome to the forum. We love bass players. We hate bass players. Oh, never mind.

OK. I can't tell for sure by your post, so I'll go through what I would do to chase down the source.

1. Do a factory reset.
    2. Use a different pair of headphones.
    3. Switch out to a cable (pad to module) known to be in good working order.