Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Starter kit - TD3

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starter kit - TD3

Hi,

I've decided to start drumming again after a ~6 year break... really looking forward to it. I don't have any gear at all, so will be looking to get both an acoustic kit and an electronic kit. The electronic kit will basically be for practise so as not to annoy the neighbours. The acoustic kit will be for "sociable" practicing and gigging.

Anyway, I'm new to Edrums, and been doing some research. The TD-3 or TD-6 looks like a good starter kit for me, but in my research I found a couple of "cheaper alternatives", namely the Millenium MPS-300/400 series. I had never heard of them and reviews of them on ye olde t'interweb seem to be non-existent.

I'm looking at this:

http://www.thomann.de/gb/millenium_m...pecial_set.htm

compared with say this:

http://www.thomann.de/gb/roland_td3k...lett_vdrum.htm

I made the mistake of getting a cheap kit first...the pads started to come apart, they werent as responsive to playing and I ended up getting a td 6 anyway after a few months...I would definitely say to go with the td3, otherwise you will just be disappointed - or frustrated . for reference, the td 6 is no longer produced though you can probably find second hand kits....the swedish magazine Studio tested various entry level drum kits, and the millenium family fared very badly, compared to the yamahas and rolands....

Thomann isnt the cheapest around - my local shops are cheaper - and they dont always ship free - drum-tec is an alternative...
    TD9+6v with Diamond Electronic pads, and cowbell.
    ATH-50m headphones, VEX packs