Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which set Y. DTXplorer, DTXpress II or R. TD3

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which set Y. DTXplorer, DTXpress II or R. TD3

Hi guys,

Im gonna buy a used e.kit and im gonna make a choice out of these sets.

Yamaha DTXplorer $567
    Yamaha DTXpress II $693
    Roland TD-3 $755

I'm just a beginner so i don't want to go for a new set. Which set do you recommend? And can you tell me why?

Thanks in advance
    Alesis Trigger I/O + TD-3 + TMC-6, 2x PD-120, VH-11, 2x Pd-85r, 1x Pd- 80, 1x Pd-8, 2x CY-8, 1x Cy-12r, 1x CY-5, KD-8

Addictive Drums, Complete EZdrummer Series, Superior Drummer 2.0 + NY Legacy Expansion, Steven Slate Drums 3.0, BFD2

Biases here will run toward the TD3, and I would recommend that one. Here's why:

The TD-3 has better sounds, and the hardware is better-built. You will be have a more seamless upgrade path with the Roland kit, and better resale value as well.

Comment

How would this chanage if the user was triggering EZD?

On paper, the DTXplorer looks inviting over the other two but that's purely on paper.
      TD-12, DTX502, SD1000, EZDrummer, Diamond Drum 12" snare, S1000 toms/cymbals/kick, PCY10/100/135/155, CY-5/14, Hart Ride, Hart Acupad 8" kick, Epedal Pro II, Concept 1 pads/cymbals, SD1000 & Roland V Sessions racks, PD-7, Kit Toy 10" splash, DMPad ride, SamplePad, PerformancePad Pro

Comment

Having a mesh snare can be a big influencing factor. Does the TD-3 you are looking at come with a mesh pad? I would got with a TD-3 just for that.
        sigpic

Comment

Michael: Yes it comes with a mesh pad.
          Grog: Does the DTXplorer look better on paper than the DTXpress II?