Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Testing drum module with recorded piezo waves

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Testing drum module with recorded piezo waves

I'll see if I can make this a short one. Or not....

I have an Alesis Trigger IO. A DIY kit which you can see here. I have no drum experience, I'm not a drummer and can't do a tight roll to save my life. Combine them all and it makes it difficult for me to really test everything and determine what the real source of any problems are.

So, the general rule of thumb is that troubleshooting is a process of elimination. However, I have too many variables and no other products to test with. So, I'd like to start with my module, a Trigger IO, and test that it can truly handle all signal input correctly.

THOUGHT: Compile a collection of flawless raw piezo waves. Waves would be recorded raw from the piezo directly. Plug the output from the piezo into your DAW interface and record it. The collection of waves would include triggering of the piezo at various velocities, various speeds, would have to be various output levels in general, and combinations thereof. Then I can simply connect the outs from my DAW interface to the inputs of my Trigger IO, play piezo wavs from the collection, and test the Trigger IO as a stand alone device. Repeatable testing here we come!

Sounds like a perfect test bed as you'd have perfect piezo waveforms to output to the drum module to test it's actual performance by removing the actual drum kit from the equation which could be a huge source of potential problems.