Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Roland TD3KW or Jobeky ProX/Custom?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roland TD3KW or Jobeky ProX/Custom?

I'm a returning drummer (5 years worth of lessons plus some gigging experience too many years ago ) and need some advice on which kit to purchase. I’m looking at an entry level kit to start and budget set at around £700. I’ve looked at alot of second hand Roland kits on eBay and noticed that the majority seem to sell at not much less the current new price - give or take the odd version upgrade or two!

I’ve tried a few cheap rubber headed kits (~£300) and a Traps E450 with mesh heads. Although I really liked the feel of the mesh heads on the Traps (and the near real-world sizes) the kit was let down by very poor drum triggering and single zone cymbals. A great shame as the build quality generally felt good for a kit in this price range.

I’ve read some reviews on the Roland TD3KW (all good) and a couple on the Jobeky ProX, but have no way of making a direct comparison. I like the idea of mesh heads and near real-world sizes the ProX offers and the fact that you can customize purchase a custom kit from Jobeky, but am concerned that the kit might not live up to expectations in terms of playability when compared to the Roland.

Any thoughts/comments therefore gratefully appreciated!

You'll probably get some feedback on this from Daveybabes. The Jobecky look very intriguing--certainly the price. Are you in the UK?

http://tinyurl.com/My-E-kit

Comment

Yes, I'm in the UK.

Comment

Sbar,