Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What about a used TD10?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What about a used TD10?

Hi Everyone,
    First post here.

I'm new to drumming, although I have been playing other instruments for the last 20 years or so.

Lately I've been looking for an electronic set for practice purposes. It should be as close as possible to an acoustic; I'm particularly interested in realistic feel -- sounds are less important to me since I don't record and won't gig with it. Other features, such as built-in songs and stuff, are even less important.

My budget doesn't allow me much freedom of choice -- I can get a TD9-KX, which sounds fantastic to me, but I'm not sure about the feel.

Lately someone suggested me a used TD10, with all mesh pads (PD120, 3*PD100, mesh kick (dunno which one)) as well as CY-14 and CY-15 cymbals. It'll cost a little more than a new TD9KX, but maybe I can push my budget a little more for this.

What do you guys think about such an option? Is the TD10 obsolete compared to a newer module, or can still be used? Can you think of cons & pros for such a deal?

Thanks in advance,
    abe

Actually, the TD-10 still sounds good and delivers a lot of bang for the buck. That is why you still see them for $2000+ dollars. The best is to find an expanded one to give you the best sound they can produce.
    sigpic

Comment

Oh, forgot to mention we're talking about an expanded set.

Is this a good deal? or should I stick to a new TD9?

Comment

Actually, the only thing I can tell that's really different between the two kits is the kick drum, it's rubber on the TD9, mesh on the TD10.