Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

TD-3SW or TD-6SW?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD-3SW or TD-6SW?

Total noob here, wanting to get started on playing drums but need to go electronic due to space/noise considerations.

I want to buy new and reserve the option for re-selling on eBay if I don't decide to stick with it (obviously eating the difference between new price and used as the 'price' of my usage of the kit)... So, with that in mind, what do y'all suggest from these two choices:

1- TD-6SW on clearance at a local store for $1200. Make that $1300 with tax, plus needing a throne and a pedal (and sticks), so maybe call that $1400.

2- TD-3SW kit from kraftmusic with a throne, pedal, headphones and sticks for $1090, no tax and free shipping.

I've spent a few hours reading this forum and see a couple of upsides and downsides with each.

TD-6- Discontinued and therefore cheaper than it WAS, roughly $600 less than its successor at the retail level... But of course it's now discontinued and not as desirable as its successor. Has more flexibility and can be updated with downloadable drum sounds (VEX). Seems to have the same individual bits as the TD-3 but has a nicer rack.

TD-3- Newer, theoretically better sounds than the TD6 within the limits of its smaller library of sounds. Obviously cheaper and more complete package, but might be limiting if I really get bitten and want to upgrade. The parts are largely the same as the more expensive kits but the rack is not as nice and the "re-sell-ability" of the TD-3 brain is marginal.