Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

pd125 on td3 module. (advice needed)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pd125 on td3 module. (advice needed)

Hi,
    I am new to the E drums,
    and need some advice
    I am thinking of buying the TD3 kit, but upgrading the snare to pd125, is it possible?
    can the td3 module handle this size?
    is there certain technical limitations in the td3 module, that won't allow me to enjoy the full abilities of this unit?

also, on the pd125 there is a label that say:
    "no rim, only on td20 module"

what does it mean ?

(because I saw on many demonstrations, that the player can put all the stick on the drum (in td3 kit) , and it make the famous click sound, so maybe the rim sound ,that only td 20 support, is when you hit with the stick on the side ?)

The PD125 should work well as a snare on your TD-3. You should be able to cross stick or do rim shots. The TD-3 lacks positional sensing.

You can not do rim shots with this pad when used as a tom except on the TD-20 module.

I upgraded my TD-3 pads to Pintech mesh heads. I got a 12 inch snare. I like the mesh heads, some prefer the rubber pads.

I added a Pintech Dingbat. It's nice to have another pad to trigger other sounds, cowbell, etc. You could also use another PD-8, a Hart hammer or even a home made trigger.

Good luck.

Michael

TD-3KW, PM-10, Zildjian anti-vibe sticks, iPod, Tama HP200 pedal, Pintech DIngbat, mesh kick, snare, toms, sound percussion throne
    Michael