Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What set to buy? Coming from Acoustic Drums....Need help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What set to buy? Coming from Acoustic Drums....Need help.

I have been playing drums off and on for over 15 years. I had a nice acoustic set a couple of years ago but sold it due to it being to loud and taking up to much room. I am married with two small children so I had to make some sacrifices. I am getting the bug again to get a set though and am considering an electronic drum set. I am really at a loss as to what is good and what is mediocre. I used to play a 4 piece drum set with a couple of crashes, ride, hi hat. I play mainly rock/alternative music if that also helps. I have never tried an electronic set so I am worried about hitting them to hard or if I might damage them. I was looking at a few of the Roland set's that people have recommended but also noticed yamaha is mentioned at times. My budget is about $800-$1200 with everything included. I am worried how the rubber pads will sound/perform compared to the mesh ones. Thanks in advance and sorry for such a long-winded post

I'll let others answer who know about yamahas and american prices, but just to reassure you, i am a big strong bloke (think: weight lifter), and I've snapped the odd drumstick in half, but have never had a problem with any of the pads (first alesis (bad) then roland td-6, now roland td-9).

Just dont step on the computer/module, or pour drinks down it.

mesh is quieter than rubber, but the triggered sounds are the same...esp for low/middle end kits that dont have positional sensing.

welcome to the club!