Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wanting to get into e-drumming please help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanting to get into e-drumming please help!

Background Information:

I'll try to keep this short but I'll start by saying I have liked the sound and versatility of electronic drums for quite some time, but never really had a reason to use them. I've been playing acoustics for about 12 years.

I am finally starting a new band and really want some retro-type sounds (like the 80's song "Always Something There to Remind Me" or Def Leppard's Hysteria album). I would also like to have some really fast double bass that cuts through the music, but still want to avoid that card-board clicky sound so prevalent with triggers (Perhaps it's the equalizer setting death metal drummers use?).

Furthermore, I am playing in an 80's metal tribute at a club every saturday. We play 80's metal like Motley Crue, Def Leppard, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi, Guns N Roses, Etc... There's been some complaints at the club that the drums are too loud, especially because the club was not originally built to handle concerts... it's more of a typical dance club. I'm used to playing very hard, and have softened my playing considerably. However, it is still too loud. I have been entertaining the idea of either switching to an electronic kit or stuffing my drums full of padding and triggering them, to get a similar effect. I would also like the ability to sample sound bits during our show and to get sounds like the "reverse snare" popular in the 80's.

As far as I see it, there are about 5 options for me when it comes to electronic drums: