Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Roland TD-9KX vs Yamaha DTXP IV Special

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roland TD-9KX vs Yamaha DTXP IV Special

Hi

I'm new to the electronic drum kit market and until last week I was almost certainly going to buy a Roland TD-9KX kit. However, after doing a bit more research I've found that Yamaha's DTEXPRESS IV Special kit gets good reviews and also seems worth considering. What's more, Yamaha's kit comes with a 'real' hi-hat, unlike Roland's. I was wondering what people's thoughts on this are. Is the lack of a 'real' hi-hat a significant drawback of the Roland kit compared to the Yamaha one? For example, can you do the usual sorts of things with the Roland hi-hat (e.g. pedal eighth-notes, splash) that you can do with an acoustic hi-hat? Has anyone played on both the Roland and Yamaha kits and can provide a comparison between the two?

Many thanks!

Hi,
    the "real" hihat of DTXpress is something I would stay away from. The pad doesnt react in a natural manner (for me it feels like hitting a brick) and is - together with the module - not very responsive. The VH-11, -12 AND the latest Hihat pad of Yamaha (that comes with DTXtreme) are great gear - but not that ugly big "thing"....
    The hihat model of the DTXpress module is quite simple. The TD-9 hihat sounds better - but I cannot tell if it is true (what Roland states) that the model is more complex. (To my opinion the multisamples are clearly better but I could not see new nuances in between open-half-close - owners of TD-9 may tell you more about that.)