Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need Advice - TD12/TD9SX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Advice - TD12/TD9SX

Hi all.

Over the past few months I've been researching Edrums and 2 days ago pre-ordered a TD9SX. I'm just starting out as a drummer (been a guitar player for 30 years) and don't need a Queensryche kit....So the TD20 is out.

Since I have a month or more to wait (which is no big deal), I'm researching some more and found that the TD12 is a better module than the 9 because you have the ability to change sounds of the heads and is very customizable.

As a newbie, is the TD12 overkill for me? I do like to tweak sounds (guitar player), so now I'm leaning towards the 12. Will the 12 allow me to hook up my ipod and play along with songs? I know the 9 has the USB port, which I don't believe the 12 does and not sure of what benefit or lack there-of the USB holds.

I haven't sat behind either one of these, so I'm not sure ergonomics have a difference between the two (although look identical).

I would like to tweak sounds, but is not a make it or break it deal. I'd like to play along with songs (ipod hook up). Go out to a MBox/pro tools setup and the ability to upgrade to 2 or 3 new pads in a year or more.

Not sure as well, if the rubber kick pad would have less feel than the mesh kick pad and VH11 of the TD 12. Guess it's personal taste but as a newbie, not sure if would know the difference.

Sorry for the babbling, but I sooo confused now... Know I can't go wrong with either one, but hate to get the 12 and in 4 months it's outdated.

Thanks....

Sorry guys, should've posted in the suggestions area.

My bad.

Comment

Welcome to the forum.