Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I really like my TD-9KX, but...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I really like my TD-9KX, but...

I hate the cymbals. So no problems with TD-9, which I think sounds great, but just with the supplied cymbals.

As posted before, I'm a newbie and I'm just playing for about 6 weeks, but I'm getting the hang of it rather easy: probably to all you great drummers out there it means nothing, but i'm playing Motorcycle Emptiness by the Manic Street Preachers (with the 8th and double 16th semi-ghost notes) very much like the recording. Just a minor achievement in my progression

I think the TD-9KX is really, really great...but I don't like the cymbals. It just feels like I'm pounding on a metal plate with a rubber furnish. I'm glad I bought the kit with the mesh heads for the pads instead of the rubbers ones. In that case my new hobbie could have finished very soon.

I like the 'bouncy' feel of the mesh instead of the 'toink, boink' of the rubber cymbals. In my mind, the feel of the cymbals should be light, like 'ting, ting, ting'.

Anyone else feels the same? And, even better, does anyone have a suggestion which cymbals would fit me better?

Hi Eric,

The sad answer is that generally the more $s you spend...the better the stick response....

I feel much the same as you do about the CY-5 and CY-8s on my kit and they also lack a bit of "soft touch" response......

The CY-12/14/15 do feel better as do the Yamaha e-cymbals.

Maybe some of the guys with those shiny brass e-cymbals could give some feedback on how they feel to the stick.....