Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Upgrading the TD-3SW, within budget...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading the TD-3SW, within budget...

I'm in need of advice for my first electronic practice kit, and so I appeal to the troves of expertise and experience that have enriched these boards. You guys are among Google's finest results!

Only two things need to be known: I'm a practicing drummer enamored with the post-bop jazz greats, and my ideal budget is $1500-ish. The latter is subject to reasoned change.. >_< That said, I have an idea of what I need: minimal equipment that best replicates the sound and feel of my 4-piece acoustic jazz kit.

So, in the interest of my budget, let the baseline be Roland's TD-3SW kit. Here's my question: in your esteemed opinions, which components should I upgrade on this $1000 kit for a minimal but worthy jazz practice experience?

First concern: the budget. Can anyone confirm that buying the factory packages is the cheapest way to get that first kit? I ask because I would love to pick and choose from the get go, but the overall cost of the same individual components sky rockets over a factory packaged kit with module.

Second concern: the sound. The TD-3 module is getting quite dated, I know, but is its sound and capabilities good enough for a no-frills jazz practice setup? Or are some features and sounds in the TD-6 or -9 worth adjusting my budget for? The number of inputs should not be a concern.

And the last but not least concern, the feel. I've listed below the upgrade candidates (about $300 a piece) in the order of importance to me. Which upgrades do you guys think are the most substantive?