Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

TD-6 vs. TD-9

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD-6 vs. TD-9

I'm a new drummer, looking to buy his first kit. I've demoed a few kits today (TD-9, DTXplorer [yuk], etc...) and am conflicted with what to purchase.

While I really like the TD-9K (can't really afford the TD-9KX), I am wondering if it would be worth the savings to go to the cheaper TD-6SW. In the end, it looks like I could probably get the TD-6SW for $400 cheaper than the TD-9K. From what I see, both kits seem to be fairly identical physically. Newer 8-inch mesh snare, different rack on the TD-9, and the difference in sound modules of course.

What are your your thoughts on the differences between the TD-6SW and TD-9KX (especially the sound modules). I mean, I see that the TD-6 is missing some features (lack of instrument paramaters perhaps?), but it also has more percussion sounds (1024 vs 522) and more built in tracks. What are the pros and cons to each model? Is the TD-9 worth the $400 difference in price?

Thanks for your input.

Decisions, decisions

I have a TD-6 and got a demo from Drew on the TD-9. Obviously the TD-9 module is incredible but there are some features that the TD-6 has that they took out to make the TD-9 more cost effective (pad pattern being one of them). The TD-9 rack is a major thing to consider. It is much sturdier than the TD-6 and more flexible with setup.

I ended up last October getting the MDS-20 rack and using ball mount L-arms for the high hats. Roland has included this type of hardware with the TD-9.