Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question About HD1 V Drums

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question About HD1 V Drums

Hello...aside from my introduction post, this is my first post.

I have been an acoustic drummer for years but now I am seriously considering an e-kit. I went to Guitar Center and tried the Simmons kit they have, (the 500.00 kit) and was not impressed. However...sitting right next to it was the Roland HD1 V Drums Lite Electronic V Drum Set. Now I never considered this as a serious kit, even just for fooling around at home....but for s*&#'s and grins I decided to try it.

I was blown away by the response of the pads, the mesh drum head and the pedals, and the ease of the "brain."

I have to laugh, I should a pic of it to my 15 yr old daughter and she said it was a toy!

What do you guys think of this kit?

Home kit - HD1
    Church Kits TD-6 and now TD-4

wanna save 10% on your ecig supplies?
    www.ecigssimplified.webs.com

No experience with it, but I would stay away from the Simmon's ... I looked at the Simmons first and eventually picked up a TD6V kit (replaced by the TD9 line recently). If you were a drummer for years and this is a serious hobby of yours, I would consider a used TD6 or TD8 over the HD, since I think these offer more flexibility. Do some research.... (or just go for a full blown TD20 and call it a day).

Comment

I think though I may wait until I can test drive the Alesis DM5 with those surge cymbals.

Home kit - HD1

Comment

You can't beat the HD1 for compact e-drumming goodness, but if you can spare the room I'd suggest a regular size kit would make you feel 'more at home'.