Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does anyone prefer rubber to mesh?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does anyone prefer rubber to mesh?

I'm a long-time acoustic drummer, and had a chance to demo a TD6 kit with rubber pads recently, and I really liked the feel. I've never played Roland's mesh pads, so I'm curious if there's anyone who actually prefers the rubber pads. How big is the issue of fatigue on the rubber pads, which I've heard mentioned? Thanks much...

Kris

Search in here. There have been a few threads on mesh vs rubber and there are a couple of people who've said they prefer rubber pads over mesh.

www.myspace.com/rubberuniverse
    TD-12, DTX502, SD1000, EZDrummer, Diamond Drum 12" snare, S1000 toms/cymbals/kick, PCY10/100/135/155, CY-5/14, Hart Ride, Hart Acupad 8" kick, Epedal Pro II, Concept 1 pads/cymbals, SD1000 & Roland V Sessions racks, PD-7, Kit Toy 10" splash, DMPad ride, SamplePad, PerformancePad Pro

Comment

Morning - Afternoon - Evening

I've only played on mesh and assumed it's a world apart and better than rubber, but by chance i was in the music store lookin at the Roland kits and some old guy asked me hey! young man (well yeah that's stretchin a point) what's the difference in these mesh and rubber, there was a stick there and so i picked it up and banged it on the mesh kit and said "well mate you can see this mesh one has good rebound" then i hit the rubber pad kit and was finishing the sentence " but these are not so good" and as i hit the pad the stick flirted back so far it nearly flew out of my hand

he said "oh" ha ha

was surprised at the good feel ... fatigue? u mean fatigue on you or the pads?