Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Drum sizes too small

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drum sizes too small

I've been playing drums for over 30 yrs I just started getting interested in e drums but I just can't get used to the small drum sizes. I sat behind a td-12 the other day and the 8" toms seemed like toys.For that kind of money you should at least get the same sizes as the td-10 or the td-20.Is it something you get used to? It seems like you have to be pinpoint accurate not to hit the rims. The new td-9 everybody seems to be raving about is the same thing,it looks nice in the picture but its basicly a td-12 with a cheaper module and a cheaper kick pad (that makes too much noise anyway).To me playing has a lot to do with how I'm feeing I just didn't get a real good feeling sitting behind these little drums.It seems like Roland should make their starter kit the td-20 and work up from there.
    [SIGPIC]

So, a starter kit at £4000? Ouch! You'd probably find you would adjust. I don't have that much of a problem with the 8 inch pads but I'm used to jumping around different kits with different sizes all the time. You can always space them further apart to replicate an A kit a bit more, and as long as they are not at radical angles, the rims should be pretty easy to avoid.

Comment