Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Newbie: V-Club questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie: V-Club questions

Hi there,

I'm new to the world of vdrums - I have my own real kit, which I haven't been able to play for the last few years because of sound/space restrictions. I make a lot of electronic music now and I'm looking to sell my real kit and add a vdrum setup to my bedroom "studio" (VST+Yamaha CS1x+SW1000XG).

I'm very keen on the Roland V-Club kit and I can't afford anything more in the short term, so I will definitely be looking to start with something like it. I spent 20 minutes playing one this weekend at my local store. I'm still not sure of a couple of things though, even after reading the newsgroups and some posts on these forums. I've boiled my queries down as much as I can to these:

1) Do the pads included with the v-club set just sense velocity?

2) Am I right in thinking that the cymbals are "dual trigger" - ie the exposed plastic sections giving the bell sound, the rubberised sections giving the (erm.. non-bell?) sound?

3) I notice that some people have upgraded their snare pad to a "dual trigger" pad. Does this just provide rimshot functionality or does it provide positional functionality? And if it does provide positional functionality, will the TD6 brain use it?

3) Which leads me on to this one - The TD6 brain - is it purely based on velocity crossfades of entirely fixed samples? In which case, how many samples are used to construct the snares? And how does it interpret positional information (if, indeed, it does)?