Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

First setup: ATV EXS-5 or TD17-KVX and module options

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First setup: ATV EXS-5 or TD17-KVX and module options

Hi, I am a beginner drummer and looking for a kit that will last me a few years with good upgrade possibilities in the future. My initial requirement is to have a good authentic acoustic-sounding experience since the main reason I am not going acoustic is noise levels. Budget is in the region of EUR 2,000.

My favoured option is ATV EXS-5 but am also looking at the TD17-KVX.

If I go for the EXS-5 any suggestions for module choice - stick with the supplied ATV module or opt for TD17 or drumit 3 instead?

All assistance and advice greatly appreciated....

Cheers

Howard

I'd stick with the supplied module. The ATV has very good raw acoustic sounds. Check out the Drumtec Youtube channel - there are 2 or 3 good videos demoing the sounds.
    TD17 will be very good also if you want a more processed sound. 2Box modules are great, but I wouldn't recommend them for a beginner.
    ATV aDrums, ATV aD5, eDRUMin, Presonus Quantum 2, SD3

Comment

The DrumIt 3 is actually a really good idea if you are concerned about extensibility - it has plenty of individual trigger inputs and also has MIDI in for additional connectivity, which neither the TD17 or xD3 have.

Roland modules are not the best when it comes to out of the box realism but you can always look at using a VST, but used availability and resale potential of Roland gear makes it a very good used purchase as you can generally sell stuff on again and more or less break even.