Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

ADVICE/PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!
See more
See less

Roland TD-11KV or TD-17KVX

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roland TD-11KV or TD-17KVX

Hi all,

Absolute novice here so take it easy on me! I recently took up some drumming lessons and found that a) I have a modicum of talent and b) I loved it.

Since my lessons finished, I’ve been doing a lot of research on kits (with limited knowledge) and have come to the conclusion that a Roland kit is the way to go. The kit will purely be for home use and with two small children in the house, the quieter the better so headphones are essential.

I’ve been looking at used kits as these seem better value and have found a local deal on Facebook which might be an option but wanted to check if it was a good deal.

For sale for 600 is:
    - Roland TD-11KV
    - Roland PM03 monitor (not really needed but would be nice to hear the output occasionally)
    - Pearl double bass pedal
    - Stagg stool

My only nagging doubt is that the setup of the TD-17 seems quite an improvement on the TD-11, with the TD-17KVX catching my eye. Items like the TD-50 derived module, larger pads, VH-10 hi hat, KD10 kickpad, Bluetooth all seem to be worth spending the extra money on, given that I would be unlikely to upgrade the kit once I have it.

One option could be to buy the Facebook TD-11KV deal for the double bass pedal, stool and monitor then seeing if I enjoy the kit and selling it on (hopefully at little to no loss) if I want to upgrade to the TD-17KVX.

So a few questions:
    - Is Roland the best kit to choose for value/quality/durability?
    - Is the TD-17 that much of a step above the TD-11 that it’s not worth considering the older model?
    - If the above is true, would it be worth buying the Facebook deal for the double bass pedal, stool and monitor?

"I recently took up some drumming lessons"
    Don't worry about a double pedal.