Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Budget Minded Non-Drummer Considering Electronic Courtesy Kit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Budget Minded Non-Drummer Considering Electronic Courtesy Kit?

Hi there,

This is my first post and all, so thanks very much for giving it a read!

I'm not a drummer I'm a guitarist-singer, but I have friends I jam with on occasion, and I have a nice home music studio etc. I'm thinking of getting an electronic kit so I can more easily host jams at home, given it's a hassle for a drummer to haul their kit in and out. Not only is it time consuming but it bangs up the walls, etc.

As a courtesy, wall and time saver, etc. I'm considering buying a used electronic kit, and out of the two below listed kits, which one is better, and/or are there others in a similar price range that I should simply wait for used? I like the idea of mesh, at least for the snare because it reduces pad noise and improves feel, but of course the more mesh pads the higher the cost, and since this is simply a courtesy / time saver kit, I'm not willing to spend thousands on a pro setup I'll never use (well I might noodle on it but I doubt I'll take it seriously).

I'm also considering buying the Alesis Nitro Mesh (brand new) from amazon.ca for $500 (Canadian dollars) because all the snare and tom pads are mesh, the reviews are great, and the price is fair. I'm aware this is not a pro kit, but that's not the point of my purchase, as it should be adequate as a home courtesy / time saver kit I expect.

I'm not inclined to buy an acoustic kit for the following reasons:
    1. they get too loud too quickly and I need to keep my hearing intact
    2. they take up more space when in use, and are harder to pack away when not in use