Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

This forum is for product advice & discussion only! Do not ask technical questions. Topics posted incorrectly will be deleted.
See more
See less

TD 15KV v TD 17KV v Alesis Nitro

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD 15KV v TD 17KV v Alesis Nitro

I have found a used TD 15KV for around AUD$1750 (note I'm in Australia, land of expensive). Then I found a new TD 17KV for AUD$1760.

This made me think the used kit was overpriced. However the seller of the used kit contacted Roland and was told the TD 15KV would sit between the TD 17KVX and the TD 25KS. Does this sound correct? He said he paid about AUD$2600 for it a while back.

Then to throw a red herring in I saw the Alesis Nitro for only $599, $699 at most stores though. A huge price difference to the Roland kits.

I'm a guitarist who always wanted to drum. I can do a bit. I know tone and I know what sounds crap. I listened to some clips of the Alesis mesh kits and they sounded very unnatural to my ear. A roll on the snare sounded very mechanical. A demo of a TD 17KV sounded way better. However it's almost 3 times the price. A person in a shop also told me the Alesis mesh pads have a better feel than the Roland pads.

It's all very confusing. My primary question is about the used TD 15KV versus the new TD 17KV. Can't work that one out

From what others have said on here the td17 is going to sound better than the 15 and seems to be the go to kit. I think the td15 is overpriced but Iím in the U.K. and maybe we have more choice. Iím sure someone else on here who has tried both will give you a more informed view.
    Roland TD30 module on TD20 kit SD3 with various kits. Pearl Masters Kit, Yamaha 9000RC original natural wood finish. Cymbals from Zildgian Pasite and Sabian. Loads of percussion bits. Cubase and Wavelab always current versions.

Comment

TD17KV all the way.