Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Seeking Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking Advice

Hello everyone,

I'd like to start off by saying that I am very new to electronic drumming and that I am excited of all the possibilities that it can open up for me and that this is one very good forum!

Secondly I have a few questions...

I am giving serious thought to buying some triggers and a drum module for my current acoustic drumkit. A few facts...

-I want to trigger the drums only (Yamaha Power V 5pc) and mic the cymbals seperately, so cymbal sound in the module is not of huge concern.
    -I, like everyone else, is looking for a good module that is cost efficient. But I am willing to pay more money for a better quality unit if need be.
    -I play metal/hard rock types of music, so I am aiming for tight, quick, and deep (deep not absolutely necessary though) bass drum sound, deep, heavy tom sound (ie. Pantera, Meshuggah), and a wide-open, deep snare drum sound (ala Fear Factory Demanufacture, Pantera Far Beyond Driven).
    -This will be mostly for live situations, but if it can sound nice enough, I will also use in the studio - since the music that I will be playing doesn't call for extremely detailed drum sound, only intense and powerful sound (sometimes even "processed-like" drum sound).

I am torn between the TD-6 and the TD-8 modules, but I think I have decided on DDRUM triggers. Has anyone been in this similar situation? I would appreciate if someone could kind-of point me in the right direction as to a good enough module to to do what I want it to do, going by the criteria stated above. Many, many thanks!

-Nolan