Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

ATV cymbal compatibility with the Roland TD-50 module.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ATV cymbal compatibility with the Roland TD-50 module.

Is the ATV aD-C18 Cymbal compatible with the Roland TD-50 module? I have an ATV aD-C18 ride cymbal I'm trying to use as a crash cymbal but regardless of where and how I strike the cymbal all I get is the edge sound. It seems that the Roland module is not reading the signals coming from the ATV cymbal as intended.

Before acquiring the ATV cymbal I had contacted Roland about getting another digital ride to use as a left hand crash/ride but they said the TD-50 can only operate one ride cymbal at a time whether digital or not. Nonetheless, I still wanted a larger diameter cymbal than a CY-14 or a CY-15R so I bought the ATV as a crash cymbal and also as a backup if down the line I decided to add another module to my rig.

There are two outputs on the ATV; cup and edge. I assumed that as with the Roland CY-15R the edge output would cover the edge and the bow. A couple of people thought I should use a dummy plug on the cup output. I'm still not quite sure what a dummy plug is or how to make one or whether it will work or not.
    Last edited by percussivewoman; 03-14-19, 07:47 PM.

Which inputs are you putting the ATV ride into on the TD-50 module? You can't use the analogue ride or snare jack inputs when the digital pads are in use.