Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

This forum is for product advice & discussion only! Do not ask technical questions. Topics posted incorrectly will be deleted.
See more
See less

ATV cymbal compatibility with the Roland TD-50 module.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ATV cymbal compatibility with the Roland TD-50 module.

Is the ATV aD-C18 Cymbal compatible with the Roland TD-50 module? I have an ATV aD-C18 ride cymbal I'm trying to use as a crash cymbal but regardless of where and how I strike the cymbal all I get is the edge sound. It seems that the Roland module is not reading the signals coming from the ATV cymbal as intended.

Before acquiring the ATV cymbal I had contacted Roland about getting another digital ride to use as a left hand crash/ride but they said the TD-50 can only operate one ride cymbal at a time whether digital or not. Nonetheless, I still wanted a larger diameter cymbal than a CY-14 or a CY-15R so I bought the ATV as a crash cymbal and also as a backup if down the line I decided to add another module to my rig.

There are two outputs on the ATV; cup and edge. I assumed that as with the Roland CY-15R the edge output would cover the edge and the bow. A couple of people thought I should use a dummy plug on the cup output. I'm still not quite sure what a dummy plug is or how to make one or whether it will work or not.
    Last edited by percussivewoman; 03-14-19, 06:47 PM.

Which inputs are you putting the ATV ride into on the TD-50 module? You can't use the analogue ride or snare jack inputs when the digital pads are in use.