Which kit to buy?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which kit to buy?

You probably get a million of questions like this, so I apologize in advance if I bother anyone overmuch, but here goes:

Without going into too much boring background detail, I've recently started shopping electronic drum kits, and have settled on either a Roland or Yamaha kit (currently leaning toward the former, hence my question on this site). I am a beginning drummer, and was originally looking at sub-$500 kits, but it seems the more I learn the more I think I "need" to have. At this point, I think a minimum requirement is all-mesh heads, as I'd like to be as close to the feel of an acoustic drum as possible, and the relative lack of ambient noise compared to rubber pads is a plus. I would also prefer something with a real hi-hat stand and a no beater-less kick pedal.

Like I said, I had been looking at Yamaha kits (the DTX 400/500/700 series) and kind of going back and forth trying to weigh what I really need vs what I want. I then became aware of the Roland TD-1DMX, which in many ways seems to be the perfect starter kit. It looks like a quality all-mesh kit at an attractive price. It doesn't have a real hi-hat stand, but at least the kick drum pedal has a beater (even if the kick drum is a rubber pad, I think).

For a couple of days, I thought I had made up my mind, but now I'm really starting to vacillate between the TD-1DMK and the TD-17KVX. It might seem silly to compare these two kits, but I wonder if the capabilities of theTD-17KVX are so much better as to be worth the higher up-front price. I don't really want to be the guy that buys the gear that vastly exceeds my needs, and in that sense, the more modest TD-1DMK really seems like a good fit. But neither do I want to buy the cheaper kit now only to end up buying the more expensive one a year from now.