Kick Pedal question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kick Pedal question

I played years ago with a entry Level Yamaha Kick Pedal, started playing again 7 months ago with the stock Kick Pedal on a cheap drumset. The Kind of Pedal you get for 20 Bucks, not very stable. Did the Job for me.

Now I aquired a KD11 and sold the old kit with the pedal: I Need a new one.

I am a beginner-level, just for fun Player without any ambitions of greatness, no gigs: will it still benefit my playing greatly if I buy a 150 $ Kick Pedal or will I be ok with a 50 $ No Name pedal (that Looks stable and has 2 chains)?

Stupid question, I know, but I like to have the Input of experienced Players on this Topic.

Really hard to say. I used a premier pedal for years which cost me £50 over more expensive pedals I had. I wouldn’t go for a no name pedal as you really don’t know what your getting and I’ve seen many on other peoples kit break. Why not try and get a 2nd hand one? I see plenty on eBay really cheap.
    Roland TD30 module on TD20 kit SD3 with various kits. Pearl Masters Kit, Yamaha 9000RC original natural wood finish. Cymbals from Zildgian Pasite and Sabian. Loads of percussion bits. Cubase and Wavelab always current versions.

Comment

Rule #1: Play it till it breaks. Draw conclusion. Upgrade. Repeat.

Rule #2: As a beginner, you don't know what you want. Over time, you will figure out what may work better with your style of playing and chosen music. As you learn, and if you see a need for change, spend some time at the local music shop trying different types of pedals. Try straps, chains, and direct drive. Try traditional length and longboards. Try light and heavy. Try different types of beaters.

Rule #3: See Rule #1.
      Alan
      -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      website | youtube | facebook | group | newsletter | twitter | message