Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

PD-120 as Bodhran?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PD-120 as Bodhran?

Hello,

I recently started playing a little bodhran (Irish frame drum), and was wondering if anyone has used their PD-120 as a MIDI bodhran? Basically that means standing it on its side on your leg and hitting it with a "tipper", which is the two-sided stick you use for the bodhran.

From my short experiments it seems to work reasonably well, but I'm wondering if I'm doing any damage to the PD-120. The only things I could think might hurt are that it is on it's side, and that the tipper hits sort of a "glancing blow", so there's wood sliding across the drum head more than usual.

Any ideas, recommendations, warnings?

Thanks,
    John

You might be onto something there as Bodhrans are notoriously fussy when micing and also humidity and temperature affects them.
    Should work OK though.

Mick
    www.royfulton.co.uk, www.zendrum.com ,Tempus Drums, Istanbul Agop, Regal Tip, Alesis DMPro, D4,Garageband, HK Powerworks PA

Comment

good idea sounds like fun.

Comment

To reply to my own post....

After a little more experimentation: one neat trick is to use the hi-hat pedal to raise the pitch, which you do with the left hand on a real bodhran. Not exactly the same of course, since the left hand also dampens the sound, but it's better than nothing. I do wish my TD-6 had a better built-in sound to use for bodhran though. I'm currently using the "muted Surdo" sound and it's only OK. I have a bodhran soundfont on my computer and it actually sounds pretty good triggering that.