Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Double bass drive shaft/snare stand positioning suggestions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Double bass drive shaft/snare stand positioning suggestions?

I got the KD 120 on a V Pro with an iron cobra double pedal and I'm curious about how people position the pedal in relation to the snare stand.

Currently I have the drive shaft behind the snare stand (relative to me), but very close. The snare head seems to be nustled under Tom 1 but the snare stand legs barely squeeze between each bass pedal. I have the snare stand angled with the "offset angle attachment" coming from behind the main stand shaft, which seems right.

I'm new at this and my major goal is to get some double bass speed for death metal music (don't laugh!!), and my setup just feels awkward. Is there a "right" way, or is this something I need to play with?

I've been reading people's speed suggestions in the old posts and they work nicely. Also, for speed, should I have the pedal springs tight or loose? How about the drum/knocker distance? The position of the adjustible ballance weight on the knocker shaft?

Welcome to the party DC.
    I think the right thing to do is sit at your kit without your pedals there and place your feet where they feel most natural to you. Then put your pedals there!