Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bass pedal clamp too shallow to clamp onto my KD-9 kick pad, looking for suggestions.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bass pedal clamp too shallow to clamp onto my KD-9 kick pad, looking for suggestions.

I have an old Dixon 611 pedal that I have been using with my cheap Alesis kit for a few years. I just got Roland TD-11KV's and the clamp on my pedal doesn't even reach over the bump on the KD-9 kick pad and if I try to tighten it then the clamp just slips off. The shark teeth type design also doesn't even seem like the right kind of clamp for that kind of mount. I decided since the pedal is old anyway I would like to fix the problem by replacing it with a pedal that has a compatible clamp. Problem is, I have no idea what other pedals out there would have a clamp that might work with this kick pad and my city isn't very big on music stores for me to just shop around for one.

If anyone has some experience with the KD-9 I'd like some suggestions of pedals that would be compatible with the mounting bump so that I can order one without worrying that it won't work when it arrives. My preferred price range is under $100 but any suggestions are appreciated. If I'm totally wrong on this and I'm just doing it wrong I'd like to know that too. But it seems like there is no room for any adjustment with my pedal's clamp. I've included a couple pictures for context.
    The clamp barely reaches the bump at all and if I tighten it, it just slips off. Closer view.
    Last edited by Nofxthepirate; 12-11-16, 06:57 PM.

Here's what my DW3000 pedal looks like on the KD9 -- it's never slipped. Mine's a double pedal, but I imagine a single uses the same hardware at the base. I really like this pedal. The single sells for about $129 new. I'm guessing you could score a used one for under $100 on eBay. Hope that helps.
    Attached Files