Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help with decided between Roland and Yamaha kits. Please help!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with decided between Roland and Yamaha kits. Please help!!

My wife and I just bought our first home and I am now unable to play my acoustic kit I am honestly really confused and have been frantically searching for some guidance. I have the option of purchasing a lightly used Yamaha DTXtreme II kit for $1400. The most experience I have with electric kits would be the Roland TD-12s and I loved them (Although I am probably biased). I have been playing acoustic for 10 yrs and really want to make a good decision. So without further ado, my options are, buy the Yamaha kit mentioned above, wait and try to find a td-12s or possibly buy a TD-11kv or 15k. I not really sure of all the different features between all kits but I know that I liked the functionality of the 12s. I felt like I could do anything. The main features that I am interested in would be sound quality, the ability to have 3 cymbals and 4 toms (3 toms and 3 cymbals would be more than enough though) also the ability to mix and play with my own music via iPod. I really dig mesh heads but I guess that I don't need them also.

Best advice is to go and play that DTX kit. See if you like it. It will have rubber pads, not mesh.

Modules' sounds are meh, but maybe more important is the number of inputs. The DTXtreme has plenty. The TD11-15 have fewer.
    DTX700, eDRUMin 4+10, A2E Dixon kit, Yamaha cymbals, FSR HH
    Kit Pix http://vdrums.com/forum/album.php?albumid=613

My new venture, HiEnd Speakers. : voglosounds.com

Comment