Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

TD15KV vs TD30KSE

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD15KV vs TD30KSE

Hello everyone

I've had a search around the forum and can't find an answer to my question so thought I would start a new thread.

I have owned a TD15KV for around 16 months, I started learning drums 18 month ago on a Alesis DM6 and hated the cymbals, so once I was convinced I was going to stick at learning to play drums I took the plunge and bought a TD15KV. At the time I couldn't justify a TD30. I've been more than happy with the TD15 and it has done everything I needed, I have also been having lessons on a Acoustic kit and bought a second hand acoustic kit to play on with mates when jamming.
    I have not found it difficult to swap between the E kit and A kit though a little amount of adjustment is required.

I am going to be doing my Grade 5 later this year and realized I needed more time on a A kit to prepare, I looked at building a studio in the garden but the cost would be prohibitive. I have been considering trading in my TD15KV against a TD30KSE (UK special edition which sits between the K and the KV in terms of pads and using a VH13 instead of VH11).

I'm not concerned about any sound improvements (my TD15KV has VEX'd kits installed), I'm more interesting in improvements in getting closer to a Acoustic kit feel and response. The TD15KV is pretty good with respect to ghost notes, rim shots, cymbal response ect, but I do feel sometimes that accented notes get lost especially when playing faster, and ghost notes can be a bit too loud. This could simply be my playing, but I can do it better on an Acoustic kit.