Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Different types of sticks on the TD30KV

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Different types of sticks on the TD30KV

This is probably a stupid question, but I am brand new to roland. I saw a video of someone playing the Vdrums with brushes and it actually sounded like brushes were being played. I know there is a "brushes" kit on the module, so my question is...is it possible to play with different types of sticks such as brushes or rods on the TD30 and make it actually sound like you are playing with those sticks? I wouldn't think that would be possible but I don't know!

The module doesn't know what type of sticks you are playing with. If you play with brushes on a kit designed for rock, you will get sounds like you are playing with regular sticks. If you play with sticks on a kit designed with brush sounds, you will get brush sounds. So its all in the sound on the module, not the stick you choose.
    I think my work is done here.

Comment

Yeah I figured. thanks for the reply

Comment

the td30 does brush sounds including sweeps. It's best to use some nylon brushes to achieve the sound, sticks don't trigger the sweep sounds well.

Roland TD-30KV, Pearl Demon Drive Double Pedal, Pearl H1000 hit hat stand, Shure SE530 IEMs, AKG K171 MKII Headphones, Mackie DLM PA, Yamaha MG102C mixer, Roland Studio Capture

Natal Walnut kit (US Fusion X), Bosphorus Antique 16" Crash & 22" Ride, Bosphorus Gold Series 14" hats.

Comment

Hi,

What nylon brushes are recommended for playing on pd-125(x)? There are several different types in the store I often go to.
          - Vic Firth Jazz Rake
          - Pro Mark B600 Nylon Bristle Brush