Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

TD8 Snares

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD8 Snares

I'm still a TD8 newbie and I need some help from fellow TD8 users. I'm becoming disappointed in the snare section because I'm finding anything to my liking. The snares sound very hollow and don't have that high piccolo "crack" that I want.

Current snare settings:
    Medium Wood
    Shell: normal
    Head: coated
    Tuning: +45
    Muffle: Doughnuts2

The problem may also be that I'm still used to my acoustic piccolo snare and just haven't completely "crossed over" to the e-snares

But if anyone has got any snare settings that can be suggested I'd really appreciate it.

p.s. Forgot to mention that I'm using Pearl RT kit with Pintech RS5 triggers (if that makes any difference)

------------------
    FJMAR99
    The original pimp!

[This message has been edited by fjmar99 (edited March 27, 2001).]
    FJMAR99 --The original pimp!

Dear fjmar99,

I have only a TD-10 nonexpanded, but here is my two cents:

1) Try different snares, including ones which may not initially be to your liking. They all seem to have different characters upon tweaking. IOW, for a great Piccolo sound, you may want to start with a non-piccolo snare.

2) I find the most "crack" in general comes from brass settings, loose snare settings, clear heads, no muffling, BUT different snare drum selections are different.

3) Learn how to use the instrument reverb section and the EQ section. These can really help accentuate the higher frequencies you are looking for.

4) If you are playing live to a speaker system, consider using a separate out for snare at least, so you can use the mixing boards EQ section as well

Hope this helps, and welcome to the board!

BTW, are you SURE you are the original?