Announcement

Collapse

Products Posting Guidelines

PRODUCT DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

midi beginner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• midi beginner

Hi all,

I'm new to the midi world. Can you guys advice me on a few things?

1) From reading various posts on this board, I take it I can send standard midi files to my TD-8 module via my computer and expect to hear them?

2) But will I also be able to play along with them by muting their drum section out similarly to the way one can do with the TD-8's build-in patterns and songs. Also, would the muting need to be done within TD-8, or should the midi file already be edited by an external sequencer program before being sent to TD-8 for play?

3)Finally what hardware/software would I need to achieve this? I'm using a PC with a Sound Blaster card. My understanding is that I would need a midi cable and some kind of sequencer sofware (I notice Cakewalk is mentioned often on this board. Which package do you have experience with and would recommend?).

Am I on the right track? Is it relatively straight foward to setup and configure everything? Will I also be able to do individual patch dumps and uploads (to share sets with others, etc.,)?

I have lots of really cool midi files that I would love to play along to. But I'm wondering whether I can do the same type of editing to them that I can do to TD-8's build in stuff. Thanks in advance.

mike

1. Yup.

2. I'm not sure I fully understand, but if I do, yes. You can record yourself as MIDI and playback through the TD-8. I think it would be best if you had already transferred the MIDI to actual audio, that would just make life easier.