Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First V-Drum Purchase - TD6V or TD4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First V-Drum Purchase - TD6V or TD4

Hello!

So, I'm a relatively experienced drummer of 10+ years, and I'm thinking about now diving into the world of electronic drums. I currently have a mini ekit comprised of a cymbal pad, kick pad, and a Roland RMP-5 which I use as a mobile practice station. However, I have recently come into two kit offerings, and I'm doing the best I can to make an educated decision on which deal to take. Here are the deals:

1. TD-6V with four mesh pads (PD-85s), one ECYMBAL II, one rubber pad (PD-8), hi hat controller. $550.
    2. TD-4 with one mesh snare pad (PDX-8), three rubber pads (PD-8s), two cymbal pads (CY-8s I believe), a hi hat pad (CY-5 I believe) and controller. $500

So, what I'm trying to weigh is my desire to have a more silent and natural feeling kit, with my desire for a higher quality module. I am interested in perhaps delving into the world of VST, however this is secondary, as I'm really unsure if my laptop can properly run the software and I have no plans of buying a new one specifically for drumming. I don't plan on gigging with either of these - maybe recording for fun, but my interest is mostly in having a more mobile kit I can use for more silent practice, for fun, and perhaps for rehearsals. Having nicer sounds would be nice, but it also is not the top priority for me.