Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm going ELECTRIC! Need help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm going ELECTRIC! Need help!

Hello! I'm not new to drumming (I've been a percussionist for 15 years), but I'm new to the forum and I'm new to e-drums. I've been lurking for a while and learning a lot but I'm starting to feel a little overwhelmed so I thought I'd throw out an SOS and hope you experts could lend some advise from your great wisdom! I grew up playing in various jazz bands, then on to a few rock groups. And then suddenly I was married and had three kids (three under four now) and a great full time job- but not much time as I'd like to play because really my only free time is after the kids go to bed. Can't play the acoustic set then! So I'm thinking about an electric conversion. I have access to more spare acoustic shells and cymbals than I can shake a stick at that I've collected over the years so that won't be a problem. I mostly like to play melodically with a lot of ghost notes (which is probably from my jazz background) - but sometimes I like to rock out and really bear down on the heads. So what method of conversion would be best? I'm also trying to carefully walk that line between "how can I get the best response?" vs. "just how cheaply can I pull this off?" because I'm working on a near zero budget. You know. Babies and food and mortgage and stuff. Recommendations for decent module? Anyone selling a decent module for a ridiculously low price? Anyone willing to walk me through it like I'm a four year old? Haha! HELP?! Thank you all so very much for your time and assistance in advance. -feldmac

Welcome!